Government Offices
Government Offices
Mineral County Sites
Mineral County Sites
Local News
Local News
Site Map
Site Map
Search For: Go

City of Keyser

Zip Code: 26726

County seat. Incorporated in 1874 and named for William Keyser, first vice president of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad when the city was originally incorporated. Formerly know as Paddytown, and during the Civil War as New Creek, scene of numerous military engagements

Class III city: Population, estimated 7,000; elevation, 809 feet; volunteer fire department and rescue squad; elections held annually on the second Tuesday in June; officials take office July first.
Hospital: Potomac Valley
Libraries: Keyser Mineral County Public Library
Banks: BB&T, M&T, First United Bank of West Virginia, Grant County Bank
Educational Institutions: Fountain Primary, Keyser Primary/Middle School, Keyser High School, Clary St. Learning Center, Mineral County Vocational Technical Center, Potomac State College
Mayor: Glen "Bunk" Shoemaker, Jr.
Clerk/City Administrator: Deborah Pamepinto
Finance Commissioner: Ed Miller
Fire Chief: Tim Evans
Water Commissioner: Sonny Rhodes
Water Treatment Supervisor: William Keister
Sewer Commissioner: Jim Endler
Streets Commissioner: David Sowers
Parks Commissioner: Sonny Alt
City Attorney: Cody Pancake
Municipal Judge: Terry Shrader
Chief of Police: Karen Shoemaker
Water Distribution Supervisor: Glen Gank
Street/Sewer Supervisor: Jim Hannas
Building Inspector: Earl Perrine
City Engineer: Mark Geary
Sewer Plant Supervisor: Jim Hoffman
Urban Renewal Authority: Sonny Alt, David Sowers, Earl Perrine
Water Board: Sonny Rhodes, Walter Bartlett, Bill Friend
Sanitary Board: Glen Shumaker, Bill Roy, Gary Simmons
Housing Authority: Edgel Rotruck, Robert Melody, Don Seibel, Terry Newlin, Kelly Fincham
Civil Service Board: Jerry Borror; Corey Shoemaker, Jeff Burgess
Municipal (Public) Building Commission: Glen Shumaker, Jim Chaney, Annette Paxton
Municipal Parking Commission: Dick Niland, Cindy Pyles, Beverly Chaney
Region 8 Authority: Jim Endler
Mineral County Development Authority: David Sowers
Recreation Board: Gary Simmons, Janie Simmons, Dave Sowers, Sonny Alt